Celebrating Star Wars

Well, I’ve spent most of Easter weekend watching the Star Wars Celebration stream live from the event in Orlando. I think it’s pretty cool that they allow you to see pretty much the whole thing – there aren’t many conventions that do that!

If you’re interested – you can still watch the entire streams from each day using the links below:

Day 1:

 

Day 2:

 

Day 3:

 

Day 4:

 

They’re long but I enjoyed watching the whole thing over the weekend. I would have loved to have been there! I was at Celebration 2016 in London as that was just a short journey away for me and I had a great time there!

So it’s the 40th anniversary of Star Wars! 40 years since A New Hope premiered. I wasn’t around then although I was born just in time for The Empire Strikes Back, I didn’t see it until it was on tv a few years later. Television was how I discovered Star Wars; I was too young while all the Star Wars mania was around – I remember being really excited when my mum brought me home figures of C-3PO and Darth Vader from someone that had been selling them at where she worked at the time. I hadn’t known there were toys of Star Wars until then and I wanted to seek out more… unfortunately this was around 1987/88 and there was next to bugger all out there in the way of Star Wars then. Yes – there was a time when you couldn’t really find anything!

I’ve made up for that since though! 😉

Oh – and they were MOC at the time but I pretty much destroyed the packaging to get the toys. If only I’d known, eh?

Still, toys are meant to be enjoyed and played with and those two certainly were. I did manage to locate some more at various boot and jumble sales over the years and I still have them now.

I’ve progressed onto the ArtFX+ stuff now though. I bought the Stormtroopers two pack at Celebration 2016 and love the fact you can choose your own combinations of poses through the different arms and legs… They’re great figures – fantastic detail and very well made for the cost. They’re now guarding my tv – one either side. That said, these are Imperial Stormtroopers so it’s questionable as to just how well my tv is guarded here… They do look good though!

The problem now is that I want to buy more ArtfFX stuff!

 

Leave a Reply

